Click a row and call javascript function

Click a row and call javascript function

danhdanh Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited July 2012 in DataTables 1.9
Really nice product, Allan! Great job and thanks so much.

I'm a newbie coder so sorry I'm missing something that I know is already written about in the forums. After an ajax call, I dynamically create the data array, and then I initialize the Data Table. What I want to do now is this: when the user clicks a row, I want to call a javascript function and send the hidden ID variable as the parameter. I've been reading the forums so I know it's possible, but I'm just not getting it. Below is my code (some of which I took from another forum - thanks everyone!). The error I get is "myTable.fnGetPosition is not a function." What am I doing wrong? Thanks so much for the help.

[code]
$('#myTable').dataTable( {
"sPaginationType": "full_numbers",
"bLengthChange": false,
"iDisplayLength": 14,
"aaData": dataArray,
"bProcessing": true,
"aoColumns": [{"sTitle": "id", "bVisible": false},{"sTitle": "Date"},{"sTitle": "Version"},{"sTitle": "Outcome"}]
});

$("#myTable tbody tr").live("click", function(event){
var position = myTable.fnGetPosition(this); // getting the clicked row position
var id = myTable.fnGetData(position)[0]; // getting the value of the first (invisible) column
displayUserInfo(id);
});
}
[/code]

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,697Questions: 1Answers: 10,102 Site admin
    > "myTable.fnGetPosition is not a function."

You don't have a variable called myTable! :-). You have a DOM element with the id of myTable, but That doesn't make it available in Javascript (unlike ActionScript 3 / MXML if you've been using that before).

Just do:

[code]
    var myTable = $('myTable').dataTable( {...
    [/code]