Server-side Script Does Not Seem to Load

Server-side Script Does Not Seem to Load

andrewmorenoandrewmoreno Posts: 10Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited April 2010 in General
Allan, thanks so much for this tool! I am just starting out in my career and I have already seen how DataTables will be a big help.

I recently began using DataTables (successfully - it looks great!), however, I am having to switch from client side to server-side processing because the amount of rows I need to load when first initializing is about 6000 and, unfortunately, since IE 6.0 is still the official browser browser supposed at my company - all of my internal users will be using it and the page takes way too long to load (Chrome works great however).

I was able to follow the example, but my problem seems to be that I can not seem to get the server-side script set in "sAjaxSource" to work. We are using JSP in my department, so I have taken the example that you provided in your script examples page and modified it to my needs. Problem is, I do not think it is even being called, as I put a println on the first line of my JSP to check in my console and it never appears. On my page I just see the tbody row "Loading Data from Server" and at some point the "Processing" message was appearing, but it is currently not.

Below is the code I am using to implement the server-side functionality.
[code]
oTable = $('#example').dataTable( {
"bProcessing": true,
"bServerSide": true,
"sAjaxSource": "../jsp/rmlAjaxSearch.jsp"
} );
[/code]

Do you know of anything else I could be missing to get my script to run? Thanks in advance.

Replies

• gutzoftergutzofter Posts: 58Questions: 0Answers: 0
    edited May 2010
    maybe it's the location of your jsp page. Your call is from the root of your page.

if this is your dir structure:
    root --> main_page --> jsp

you should do this:

[code]
    "sAjaxSource": "jsp/rmlAjaxSearch.jsp"
    [/code]