Esc is not exiting from inline editor

Esc is not exiting from inline editor

tamarmottamarmot Posts: 14Questions: 3Answers: 0

I am just getting started with datatables.editor and it works perfectly EXCEPT for escape. I have tried not changing the default (which should be onEsc: 'close'), and I have tried explicitly setting it:
formOptions: {
inline: {
onEsc: 'close'
}
}

Yet when I press esc key (on a mac) nothing happens, and in fact the input gets stuck, and I cannot create another editor input on any other cell.

Suggestions? Is it a different key on the mac?
thanks

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• tamarmottamarmot Posts: 14Questions: 3Answers: 0

for the record, when I load the inline editing example it works fine. I'm wondering if something else is grabbing the escape.

Yep. I have confirmed that because I include a custom field editor which is a bootstrap-tagsinput editor, that is clobbering the escape functionality.

Ok now I am discovering that my custom tagsinput plugin is being called even when the type of the field is text. This custom plugin overrides the preClose and is returning false. I will look into why this plugin is called.

I've adapted my code and gotten to a point where if I press escape twice it closes; I have changed my plugin to just do 'one' for preClose, and added that one every time there is a set ...
    set: function ( field, val ) {
    this.closeable = false;
    this.one('preClose', function( e ){
    return this.closeable;
    });

but I still do not understand why this set method for my plugin is called when the text input is created.

To clarify, this is all for inline editing.

• allanallan Posts: 63,259Questions: 1Answers: 10,421 Site admin

Is the plug-in handling the esc key at all (i.e. is there an event listener for it)?

Given that the problem doesn't appear to be in Editor itself, can you give me a link to a page that shows the issue so it could be debugged.

Allan