Potential fnDraw optimization for large tables?

Potential fnDraw optimization for large tables?

timtuckertimtucker Posts: 48Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited January 2012 in General
Just out of curiosity, I started playing around with one of the sections in fnDraw where the rows are removed from the table
[code]
/* When doing infinite scrolling, only remove child rows when sorting, filtering or start
* up. When not infinite scroll, always do it.
*/
if ( !oSettings.oScroll.bInfinite || !oSettings._bInitComplete || oSettings.bSorted || oSettings.bFiltered )
{
nTrs = oSettings.nTBody.childNodes;
for ( i=nTrs.length-1 ; i>=0 ; i-- )
{
nTrs[i].parentNode.removeChild( nTrs[i] );
}
}
[/code]

I was curious what the performance impact would be to use a simpler jQuery call to detach the nodes, i.e.:
[code]
/* When doing infinite scrolling, only remove child rows when sorting, filtering or start
* up. When not infinite scroll, always do it.
*/
if ( !oSettings.oScroll.bInfinite || !oSettings._bInitComplete || oSettings.bSorted || oSettings.bFiltered )
{
$(oSettings.nTBody).children().detach();
}
[/code]

Using detatch() vs. html('') means that all the events / data / etc is still preserved on the nodes -- from the little bit of testing in my own app that I've done so far it looks to have functionally the same effect.

The real interesting point came when I ran some tests with jsPerf: http://jsperf.com/remove-detach/7

Re-running the test in Firefox, IE, and Chrome with different values for the number of rows in my sample table, I noticed an interesting trend:

10 rows -> 50 rows -> 100 rows -> 500 rows -> 1000 rows -> 5000 rows -> 10000 rows

Remove vs. Detach (ops/sec)

IE 8
[quote]
10 rows
400,000 vs. 27,000

50 rows
380,000 vs. 26,000

100 rows
350,000 vs. 25,000

500 rows
18 vs 14,000

1000 rows
5 vs 2,000

5000 rows
0.25 vs 5

10,000 rows
0 vs 3
[/quote]

Firefox
[quote]
10-5,000 rows
gradual decrease from 10,000,000 -> 6,000,000 vs gradual decrease from 300,000 -> 215,000