How to get "scrollX":true} to work in my Wordpress Theme

How to get "scrollX":true} to work in my Wordpress Theme

DerrickG72DerrickG72 Posts: 10Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hello, I am very new to DataTables and I am stuck! I am using wordpress as my backend and I have one page that has a rather long excel file. I am using Inline Google Spreadsheet Viewer module to display my sheet and in the datatables defaults object I have this:

{"dom":"B<'clear'>lfrtip","buttons":["colvis","copy","excel","pdf","print"],"scrollX":true}

The problem is the scroll does not appear like it does on the example page https://datatables.net/examples/basic_init/scroll_x.html from this site.

Can anyone tell me how to achive the bottom scroll?

Thanks!

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin

Happy to take a look into it if you can post a link to a page showing the issue. As you note, the example appears to be working correctly.

Allan

• DerrickG72DerrickG72 Posts: 10Questions: 1Answers: 0

Allen, I sent you a login for my site. I just cant get this table thing to work right. I just want it to be scrollable inside the window... not sure why it isnt working.

:::::frustrated::::::

I did add this line of CSS: .dataTables_wrapper {min-width: 3300px; margin: 0 auto; }
    which made the entire sheet scrollable from the bottom of the browser window but it doesn't make the actually table scrollable and it looks terrible.

I also played around with this:

div.dataTables_wrapper {
    width: 100%;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }

It made the table bigger but still not scrollable.

Thanks for the PM with the link.

The page has:

.dataTables_wrapper {
        min-width: 3300px;
        margin: 0 auto;
    }

So the wrapper element is never going to be smaller that 3300px. Could you remove that CSS please and I'll try the page again.

Thanks,
    Allan

allan, I have removed the code from custom css.