How can I get the insertid from the Editor->process() method?

How can I get the insertid from the Editor->process() method?

TomBajzekTomBajzek Posts: 164Questions: 37Answers: 1

Let me begin by saying that I've been using DataTables/Editor for several months now, and I'm very pleased by the entire software package, as well as the resulting product.

I do have a question at the moment:

My application uses an AJAX-based data source, and the server-side code simply validates the edits and then calls the process method. In the case that a new record is created, the application needs to notify certain people by email that contains that record's id. I do know that I can use a postCreate event handler to take care of this situation, but I cannot see how to obtain the insertid from the process method.

Is that possible, or do I need to replace the process method with explicit DB calls to get the insertid in this case?

Thanks in advance, and keep up the excellent work,
Tom

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 63,288Questions: 1Answers: 10,427 Site admin

Hi Tom,

The postCreate event handler will be passed the newly inserted row id.

The full list of events, along with the parameters passed into them is available here.

Allan

• TomBajzekTomBajzek Posts: 164Questions: 37Answers: 1

Allan,

If my AJAX handler on the server just saves what is passed to it by the client, should not the conents of the $values array match the contents of the $row array? In my case, they do not. The $values array contains what the client has passed in, but the $row array does not contain the data from the record just written. Rather, it contains some other, apparently abritrary (but consistent) record in the DB. The record created in the DB contains the correct information.

My original code used the $row array to compose the email notification, whereas that data is wrong, and the $values array is correct.

I have a code segment and log entries to illustrate:

Editor::inst( $db, 'tickets', 'id' )