How to populate the row.child using ".net" datatable as datasource?

How to populate the row.child using ".net" datatable as datasource?

alexlealexle Posts: 7Questions: 2Answers: 0

I am a newbie to "jQuery DataTable Plugin" and I have also searched the forum to find a solution to my problem but no avail. Please forgive me if my question is redundant.

Basically, I have a web form that displays the search result using jQuery DataTable plugin. I want to be able to click on a (+) to expand the detail information for the selected row. To populate the data for the master table, I used code-behind to extract the data from the database. For the detail table, I used "web method" in the code-behind with 2 input parameters (primary key and environment). I made sure my web method indeed to the result from the database via unit-test. For the life of me, I cannot get the client (web browser) to display the data when I clicked on the ( + ) sign. I noticed that the responsJson.Message = Authentication failed. I attached my code so everyone can see what I am doing wrong.

These are the errors: SearchCustomer:1685
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'show' of undefined
* at HTMLTableCellElement.<anonymous> (SearchCustomer:1685)
* at HTMLTableSectionElement.dispatch (jquery-1.12.4.js:5226)
* at HTMLTableSectionElement.elemData.handle (jquery-1.12.4.js:4878)
* (anonymous)

POST http://localhost:1882/SearchCustomer.aspx/GetLoanHistory 401 (Unauthorized)
* send @ jquery-1.12.4.js:10254
* ajax @ jquery-1.12.4.js:9738
* format @ SearchCustomer:1632
* (anonymous)

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

If this line:

row.child(format(row.data())).show();

Is causing Cannot read property 'show' of undefined, it suggests that format(...) is actually returning undefined (and thus child() would be used as a getter rather than a setter).

Looking at the format function, that is indeed correct.