Filter post-processing and highlighting

Filter post-processing and highlighting

theremontheremon Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited June 2010 in General
Hi everyone

I'm rather new to datatables and kind of overwhelmed with the amount of customization it supports. I'm also kind of lost in the documentation and currently I'm stuck on something that might sound trivial to most of you. But sitll I need help on implementing this.
I have a datatable with 3 columns on which I want to apply a filter based on a textbox. Two of the three columns are hidden so I don't mind about those, however I want to change the display output of the third column on the fly.
What I want to do is known to most of you. If I have cell data such as "abcde" and type "ab" in the filter, I want to have "ab" shown in bold (or simply a different class). I've added a custom fnRender in the aoColumns spec while initializing and it works fine. However, it seems the fnRender function is not called again upon the datable's redrawing when the filter is changed.
I suppose I'll need to add some code in the fnDrawCallback to alter the display, but I cannot figure out how to reference the table cells properly.
Any help please?

Replies

• theremontheremon Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Forgot to mention that the textbox I use for filtering isn't the datatables "default" textbox. It's just a normal textbox and I use fnFilter() to do the filtering.
    Also, fnDraw() seems to ignore fnRender and whatever is inside.
  • theremontheremon Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Ok, I got it. Apparently when applying a filter and upon the table's redrawing, the fnRender function is not executed (maybe it was my fault for believing that it should execute on every redraw), but I can achieve the result I want via fnRowCallback.
    So, I added the highlight code in there and everything worked fine.
  • CHgsdCHgsd Posts: 25Questions: 0Answers: 0