Possible to condense the current filter col's same data into an expandable single row?

Possible to condense the current filter col's same data into an expandable single row?

NoRefund17NoRefund17 Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited June 2018 in Free community support

Hi, I apologize ahead of time for my lack of coding knowledge, i'm still very new to this all.

Short: Is it possible to condense same data into an expandable single row when the matching data is currently selected as the sorting column?

Longer explanation if needed:
What I'm looking to do is use datatables for our podcast as an easy way to sort and search our episodes. So i'm curious if it is possible to be able to do the following. If i had Column of like "Episode Number" "Book" "Author" "date released". Would it be possible to setup datatables, if there are multiple episodes with the same author, or multiple episodes on the same book, to have it collapse all episodes for that Author (when author is selected as the sorting criteria) or book (when book is selected as sorting criteria) into a single row with only the book or author listed. than when its clicked on, expand to show all episodes that match that book or author entry.

If possible, could you point me in the right direction on how I might accomplish this?

Thank you so much in advance for your help :).

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• colincolin Posts: 15,112Questions: 1Answers: 2,583
    Answer ✓

Hi @NoRefund17 ,

If I understand correctly, you want something like a folder view, where expanding the 'author folder' shows their books within. If so, DataTables doesn't do that as standard, as it just shows all the records it has knowledge off. It can group by a column, such as the author, with RowGroup.

It probably would be possible to do this with a lot of code. If I have time next week I might set myself the challenge - if I can do it, I'll report back.

Cheers,

Colin