Use another grouping row instead of an additional row created by rowGroup.startRender

Use another grouping row instead of an additional row created by rowGroup.startRender

Bart BaekelandtBart Baekelandt Posts: 8Questions: 1Answers: 0

Normally rowGroup.startRender is used to modify the contents of the
grouping row. This grouping row is a separate row showing
some summary information on the group and with this grouping row
you can expand and collapse the group via a click (works fine).

Instead of using this grouping row I want to use the first row of the group
as the grouping row and not a separate row.
As such I want to use the DataTables more like a "directory expansion".

With the rowGroup.startRender you can make this but then you have
on the first two rows of the group almost the same information displayed.
So basically I do not need the grouping row as I don't have additional or
summary information for the group.

As I am pretty new to the DataTables perhaps I did not
encounter the right method so all ideas are welcome.

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 21,147Questions: 26Answers: 4,918

The RowGroup extension adds a tr that is not part of the Datatable to show the start of the group. This happens whether you use rowGroup.startRender or let rowGroup display the default group row. There is not an option to use one of the Datatables rows as the group start.

the first two rows of the group almost the same information displayed.

I'm not sure what you mean. This example groups on the Office column. It also displays the office column. The same information is displayed in the office column. Is this what you mean? If so you can use columns.visible to hide the column used for the grouping.

So basically I do not need the grouping row as I don't have additional or
    summary information for the group.