Twitter-like dynamic reveal?

Twitter-like dynamic reveal?

LanceALanceA Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited February 2010 in General
I will fully admit that I am a hack coder, but I'll put this out there just to get a pointer. I want to alter the "show more rows" drop-down so that it operates like Twitter's "show more tweets" page. In other words, which API calls should I pursue to make a button at the bottom of a table that says "10 More" and clicking it will automatically expand the table by 10 rows, and this keeps occurring until the end of the table is reached, so the entire contents are eventually shown?

Shorter question: Is this possible?

P.S. Great work on DataTables, by the way! We're going to be using the code at The Internet Archive on an upcoming site refresh.

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 63,205Questions: 1Answers: 10,415 Site admin
    What you could do is make use of the fnLengthChange API plug-in function: http://datatables.net/plug-ins/api#fnLengthChange . It will take a number, and simply alter DataTables display length to match what you pass it. i.e. oTable.fnLengthChange( 20 ) would display 20 rows.

Doing a 'scrolling' reveal is some what more tricky. Given that it's a table, and tables don't really like animation, what you would need to do, if you wanted this, is to wrap the table in a DIV with overflow:hidden, then increase the displayed rows and then finally animate the div to the new table height.

Great news that DataTables is going to be used on The Internet Archive! I love what you guys do - and have used it many a time :-). Any chance you could post back when you've got something to show us? I'd love to be able to put "Used by the Internet Archive" on the front page :-)

Regards,
    Allan
  • LanceALanceA Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
    I don't think the scrolling is necessary. I was planning on simply fading the new rows in so the user recognizes that something has occurred without blinking them in with show().