dataTables.bootstrap.js shows some errors in IE8

dataTables.bootstrap.js shows some errors in IE8

avalleavalle Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi,
I am working as senior developer in one .net company.My application is developing using asp.net 4.0,Jquery Ajax calls,Jquery Datatables and Bootstrap for responsive pages.The application is working properly in Firfox,Google Grome.However it's not working in IE8.We got some issues below.

'defaults' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 20 character 1
'ext' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 30 character 1
'ext' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 38 character 1
'TableTools' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 155 character 1
'TableTools' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 157 character 2
'TableTools' is null or not an object dataTables.bootstrap.js, line 179 character 2

Can you help me out to fix those issues?

Thanks,
Naidu

Answers

  • allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

    The Bootstrap demo page appears to work well for me in IE8. Could you link to a test case showing the issue please (as noted in the forum rules).

    Allan

  • avalleavalle Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited September 2015

    Hello allan,

    I made solution in visual studio and hosted in IIS and i accessed page in IE8 browser then i got an error below at

    $(document).ready(function () {
    $('#example').DataTable();
    }); throws an exception like

    Object doesn't support this property or method JScript.js, line 2 character 5

    Can you do seperate application and test it in ie8.Dont run the page http://datatables.net/examples/styling/bootstrap.html in IE8.

    Thanks,
    Naidu

  • avalleavalle Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited September 2015

    Hello allan,

    First of all can dataTables.bootstrap support IE8 ?.And i run http://datatables.net/examples/styling/bootstrap.html page in IE 8.It throws an exception for me.Below is the error

    Webpage error details

    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; BTRS100200; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E)
    Timestamp: Thu, 24 Sep 2015 10:02:45 UTC

    Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
    Line: 25
    Char: 2
    Code: 0
    URI: http://datatables.net/examples/styling/bootstrap.html

    Thanks,
    Naidu

  • allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

    Weird - I've just tried that page in my IE8 VM and it renders without issue. I'm not sure what I can do if I can't reproduce the error I'm afraid.

    Allan

  • charliechihuahuacharliechihuahua Posts: 1Questions: 0Answers: 0

    Hi, I have the same isssue. Testcase http://live.datatables.net/jekibami/1/.
    The Problem is the pdfmake-0.1.18 library wich is used by the pdfHtml5 Button. The library is not IE8 save. Unfortunately the library don't check for IE8 and stop init to avoid the error. It should noted in the HTML button description.

    Francesco

  • allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

    But the page linked to above doesn't include makepdf at all. So that can't be the error in this specific case.

    However, yes, I'll update the documentation for the HTML5 PDF button to note this issue. If I have time I'll send a PR for makepdf - although I'm sure they would welcome a patch from anyone if you fancy it :-)

    Allan

  • avalleavalle Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited September 2015

    Allan ,

    I have fixed some issues in IE8.Now the issues are coming with datatables. I am getting an error at below line code

    Object doesn't support this property or method case-information-dashboard.js, line 66 character 5

    g_Table = $('#tblDashBoard').dataTable(
    {
    "bDestroy": true,
    "oLanguage": {
    "sEmptyTable": "No Data"
    },
    "aaData": response,
    "bProcessing": true,
    "bAutoWidth": false,
    "bJQueryUI": false,
    "bPaginate": false,
    "bFilter": false,
    "bInfo": false,
    "aoColumns": [
    { "mData": "ResponseTypeID", "sTitle": "ResponseTypeID", "bVisible": false },
    { "mData": "ResponseType", "sTitle": "Response Type", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "ResponseCount", "sTitle": "Response Count", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Class", "sTitle": "Percenatge of Class(%)", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Valid", "sTitle": "Valid", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Invalid", "sTitle": "Invalid", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Pending", "sTitle": "Pending", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Deficient", "sTitle": "Deficient", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Dispute", "sTitle": "Dispute", "bVisible": true },
    { "mData": "Late", "sTitle": "Late", "bVisible": true }
    ]
    });
    }

    Can you please check ?
    Thanks,
    Naidu

  • allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

    Please link to a page showing the issue so I can offer some debugging assistance.

    Allan

  • avalleavalle Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited September 2015

    Allan,

    Finally i fixed all above i mentioned issues with replacing local files instead of CDN's.CDN's are not working in IE8 finally i come to know that.Now the issue is with bootstrap responsive menubar.

    Menubar is not displaying properly even i added response.js

    Can you go through my files i added in my master page for better understanding.

    <%--Css Reference--%>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../JQuery/jquery-ui-1.11.4/jquery-ui.css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../JQuery/DataTables-1.10.7/media/css/jquery.dataTables.min.css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../JQuery/DataTables-1.10.7/extensions/TableTools/css/dataTables.tableTools.css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../JQuery/DataTables-1.10.7/extensions/Responsive/css/dataTables.responsive.css" />
    <link href="../Bootstrap/libraries/3.3.5/css/bootstrap.min.css" rel="stylesheet" media="screen" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/CSS/dataTables.bootstrap.css" />
    <link href="../css/Secured.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

    <%--Jquery Reference--%>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/jquery-ui.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/jquery.dataTables.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/dataTables.tableTools.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/dataTables.responsive.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/fnProcessingIndicator.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../JQuery/libraries/1.11.3/dataTables.bootstrap.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="../Bootstrap/libraries/3.3.5/js/bootstrap.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 
    

    <nav id="LiveCaseMenuHeader" role="navigation" class="navbar navbar-default navdiv" runat="server">
    <div class="navbar-header">
    <button type="button" data-target="#navbarCollapse" data-toggle="collapse" class="navbar-toggle">
    <span class="sr-only">Toggle navigation</span>
    <span class="icon-bar"></span>
    <span class="icon-bar"></span>
    <span class="icon-bar"></span>
    </button>
    <a href="#" class="navbar-brand"></a>
    </div>
    <!-- Collection of nav links and other content for toggling -->
    <div id="navbarCollapse" class="collapse navbar-collapse">
    <ul id="LiveCaseMenu" class="nav navbar-nav navitem" runat="server">
    <li runat="server" id="LC1"><a href="../secure/secure-landing-page.aspx">Case Selection</a></li>
    <li runat="server" id="LC2"><a href="../secure/case-information-dashboard.aspx">Overview</a></li>
    <li runat="server" id="LC3"><a href="../secure/case-information-general.aspx">General Info</a></li>
    <li runat="server" id="LC11"><a href="../secure/case-information-attorneys.aspx">Attorneys</a></li>
    <li runat="server" id="LC8"><a href="../secure/case-information-reports.aspx">Reports</a></li>
    <li runat="server" id="LC12"><a href="../secure/meet-simpluris.aspx">Meet Simpluris</a></li>
    </ul>
    </div>
    </nav>

    Thanks,
    Naidu

This discussion has been closed.