Help with slow server side rending

Help with slow server side rending

smalonesmalone Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited September 2012 in General
Hello,

I am pretty new to DataTables. I use to use tablesorter, but my new project requires several millions of records at any given time. I was told DataTables is what all the cool kids use. I was just like to first say that I am very impressed with this library so far.

I ran through the documentation, examples, and API. Based on my needs, it looks like I needed to use server side scripting. When running test data (~50,000) records, it seemed to work great for me. The table rendered in less than a second. Then i jumped over to the million+ data records, and then my troubles started. I have yet to let it run all the way through. The longest I let it run was about 20 minutes or so.

I am using PHP and MySQL to access the database. My version of dataTables is 1.9.3 I am using the server side template provided in the example.

Here is my table initalization:
[code]
var dataTable = $('table').dataTable({
"sAjaxSource": "php/pop_table.php",
"sScrollY": "200px",
"sDom": 'frtiS',
"bProcessing": true,
"bSortClasses": false,
"bDeferRender": true,
"bServerSide": true,
"oScroller": {
"loadingIndicator": true
}
}).fnSetFilteringDelay(250);
[/code]

Here is the portion of the php script that I modified:
[code]
$aColumns = array( 'date', 'phone', 'roaming', 'call_duration', 'overseas' );

/* Indexed column (used for fast and accurate table cardinality) */
$sIndexColumn = "phone";

/* DB table to use */
$sTable = "calls";

/* Database connection information */
$gaSql['user'] = "#########";
$gaSql['password'] = "########";
$gaSql['db'] = "#########";
$gaSql['server'] = "#######";
[/code]

I didn't modify the anything else in the php script because I'm currently testing with a basic query.