Outstanding slowness & number of DOMs

Outstanding slowness & number of DOMs

johnsanjohnsan Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited February 2010 in General
Hi everyone,

First of all, thank you very much Allan for your great plugin ! I am always thankful to the developers like you who give so much of their time to provide the community with great code.

I wish the sole purpose of this message was to thank you, but I have a bit of an issue with my code. Being a novice myself, I recently started coding in PHP and Javascript and found your plugin to display nice table with the sortable feature and all the other goodies.

At the moment, I display small tables (the biggest is 177 records, and I display 10 fields for each record).

While the query is extremely fast to be executed in phpmyadmin (about 0.0001 sec), it takes 6 seconds to display in Firefox.
I know my code is crap but it still seems very excessive. I have also noticed that a very big number of DOMs are created for this table : 4600 approximately.

Could that explain why it is so slow ? Is it normal to have so many DOMs when displaying a table of data ?

Thank you very much for your help.

Best regards from down under.

Jonathan

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 63,113Questions: 1Answers: 10,396 Site admin
    Hi Jonathan,

Are you using client-side processing, or client-side? I think my answer will depend on which...! Client-side - 6 seconds is quite a while for Firefox - IE I can understand... - do you know which part is slowing it down? If you use YSlow or just the default profiling in Firebug, does is indicate anything useful. Server-side - ouch! It would suggest that the net connection is horribly slow or the SQL table huge/unoptimised?

Allan
  • johnsanjohnsan Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
    edited March 2010
    Hi Allan,