load data from CSV server side

load data from CSV server side

jerome_jayjerome_jay Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited February 2013 in General
Hello all,

I could not find the answer to this question yet, so I tried creating it myself.
Although I'm slowly progressing toward a working goal, I feel like I'm re-inventing the wheel every line of code I write ...

So, in short:
would someone has a working code of datatable that reads data from a (rather large) CSV file on server side ? (rather large is 14.000 lines => my browser can't handle that much in DOM - the server can quite easily handle a parsing of that file every so often).

what I want:
using the basic zero-config example:
[code]

$(document).ready(function() {
$('#example').dataTable( {
"bProcessing": true,
"bServerSide": true,
"sAjaxSource": "read_csv.php"
} );
} );

[/code]

From there, I would need a working "read_csv.php" that obviously outputs a JSON format.
WARNING: I'm still new to datatables, so maybe I've got it all wrong, so let me know in that case ;)

note:
just to show I was not lazy and did the start of my homework: I've already got the basics working with the below content of read_csv.php, but as I was saying, I feel like re-doing stuff that has probably been done countless of times ... and doing it in a not-so-good way:
[code]
<?
/*
* Paging
*/
$iDisplayStart = 0;
$iDisplayLength = 9;
if ( isset( $_GET['iDisplayStart'] ) && $_GET['iDisplayLength'] != '-1' ) {
$iDisplayStart = $_GET['iDisplayStart'];
$iDisplayLength = $_GET['iDisplayLength'];
}
$iDisplayEnd = $iDisplayStart + $iDisplayLength;
$myFile = "/prod/backup/OSS/NE_DATA/NE_DATA.csv";
$myFile_data = file($myFile);
$count = 0;
$echo_block = "";
foreach ($myFile_data as &$line) {
$line = chop($line);
$line = addslashes($line);
list($VENDOR,$EM,$NETWORK,$NE_NAME,$TYPE,$VERSION,$MAA,$MAC,$NSEL,$ON_IDN,$COMMENTS,$EM_IP,$NE_IP,$GNE,$HD1,$HD2,$Region,$Country) = explode(",",$line);