sum filtered rows/columns

sum filtered rows/columns

longestdrivelongestdrive Posts: 9Questions: 5Answers: 0
edited March 2013 in DataTables 1.9
Hi
I want to be able to sum a column of data after a filter has been applied using the plug in column filter.

I found this thread: http://datatables.net/forums/discussion/2053/fnfootercallback-sum-column-after-filter/p1

Which partly relates to the solution but I'm unclear on how I can use the object created:

._('td:nth-child(4)', {"filter": "applied"})

I'm a novice at jquery - I assume I need to go through each cell in the column and add the value but I havent a clue on how to start this

Can you point me in the right direction please

Thanks

Replies

• GregPGregP Posts: 494Questions: 9Answers: 0
    edited March 2013
    To be honest, I don't know what the "filter" part will do (and I've never actually used the underscore function at all!), but in general what you're ideally getting back is an array of values related to the selector. So, in your example, you will get an array of values for your 4th column, presumably filtered with the keyword "applied".

If the original data is stored in integer or float form, you can then iterate through it like any other array to get a sum:

[code]
    function sumColumn(col, filterString) {
    var dataArray = $('#myTable')._('td:nth-child(col)', {"filter": filterString});
    var sum = 0;
    var sumCell = $('td#sum');

for (var i=0, len=dataArray.length; i < len; i++) {
    sum += +dataArray[i];
    }

sumCell.text(sum);
    }
    [/code]

I've broken it out into a semi-generic function. It's not super-optimized or anything... you'll want to add your own sanity checks and try/catches as needed. Here's what it does, if you call it with sumColumn(4,"applied"):

- Calls the underscore function on a dataTable with the ID "myTable", looking in column 4 with the filter "applied" and stores the results (an array) in the variable dataArray.
    - Initializes the variable "sum"