Datatable taking long time for loading

Datatable taking long time for loading

anubhav1985anubhav1985 Posts: 13Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited May 2010 in General
Hi Allan,

First of all, i would like to thank you for this wonderful tool of yours. It really made my life a hell lot easier.
I have a website which is using the Datatable component. I am very new to this entire framework and hence i might be facing a very trivial issue here but just wanted to ask everyone's opinion on it.

I am a ASP.Net developer and i am using datatables in .net.
Okay, so here is the problem. I have a very simple page with nothing on it except for a GridView which is being used by a Datatable to display data. This data happens to be coming from a SQL Server database which is hosted on one of the remote machines. The thing is that the data comes from the database pretty quickly however, the page takes a lot of time to render up. I should add that i am using one of the UI Themes called UI Darkness.

Now, my question is, that does it take this long to load some 9999 records on a page or am i missing something here? I do not want to go for Server Side as the maximum number of rows that can be on the page can be only 9999. I think Datatable is good enough to handle this much size atleast.
When i remove the datatable part of the code and let the gridview be loaded by itself, it hardly takes 10 seconds to display the gridview with the pagination and sorting in place. However, with Datatable, it is taking more than 5 minutes.

Can someone please let me know how i can speed up the rendering of the web page.

Regards,
Anubhav

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 63,280Questions: 1Answers: 10,425 Site admin