DataTable breaking when php page is refreshed

DataTable breaking when php page is refreshed

Dew60dropDew60drop Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited March 2014 in General
debug code: ukazac - unfortunately I cannot provide a link.

I'm new to datatables and not very javascript savvy so help would be much appreciated!

Basically I have a webpage (dashboard.php) that has a datatable that is constantly refreshed but the datatable breaks on refresh (event handlers disappear, styling rows gone, etc).

To create the table I start with a and then call the corresponding webpage(dash_server.php) to load inside that div window without ever leaving the dashboard.php. The table creation and data calls all happen within the dash_server.php page. So if I go directly to dash_server.php the table loads fine and everything is great. However if I stay on the dashboard.php page the table loads fine and then breaks when its refreshed.

This is the code on the dashboard.php page that calls the dash_server.php inside the div window:
echo "\n";
echo "url$window_num='$filename'; updatearea$window_num='$window_name'; refresh$window_num=$refresh; addOnLoad($ajax_call);\n\n";
echo " \n";

I read somewhere that if the portion of the table is refreshed then it gets messed up. However at this point in time I can't change where the table is loaded, it has to all be within the dash_server.php page.

So my question is how to get my datatable to stay functional when its called in a separate webpage window and constantly refreshed?

My code for calling the datatable is pretty simple:

This would be my JS

$(document).ready(function() {
/* Table initialisation */

if ($('#example_pdf').length){

$('#example_pdf').dataTable( {
"sDom": '<"row-fluid" <"pretty_header_left" f><"pretty_header_left" l><"pretty_header_right hidden-phone" T>r>tip',
"sPaginationType": "full_numbers",
"oTableTools": {
"sSwfPath": "/bootstrap/js/include/assets/DT/swf/copy_csv_xls_pdf.swf",
"aButtons": [
// copy layout
{