modify server data

modify server data

jack_lunnjack_lunn Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0

New to DataTables - it looks brilliant! I'm just a little bit stuck. I'm also new to PHP and MySQL which I want to use. I have set up my database in MySQL and I'm OK using PHP to extract the data and display/sort etc. with DataTables.
I've been stuck for a while now trying to update the data on my server.
Before I came here I was using POST between pages.
Does anyone know of a complete short sample I could work through?
It may be 'serverside processing' or 'aaData' or I may have to learn AJAX - just not sure how to go about it.

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• WoldereWoldere Posts: 17Questions: 3Answers: 2
    edited November 2014

What do you mean by "update the data on my server"? What exactly were you doing with POST? Update/Edit data in the db?

• jack_lunnjack_lunn Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0

I'm obviously missing something here!

I have an MySQL database on my server.
    I have HTML/PHP code to go on several clients which will maintain the server data.
    I can use this client side code to display data and DataTables/JQuery to enhance the whole UI experience.

After lots of research I can 'POST' between pages and although I haven't done it yet, I was expecting to use something like
    'SQL updat/delete' etc. to modify the server data.
    I just need some documentation or to look at sample code where all this can be achieved.

I'm surprised that this isn't more well documented as it a situation to be solved by most of the users of 'DataTables'.
    This is why I say 'I'm obviously missing something'

I hope I've explained this more clearly.

• allanallan Posts: 61,934Questions: 1Answers: 10,156 Site admin

I don't understand this part:

Before I came here I was using POST between pages

Were you doing a full page reload and using POST to send the information required about the new page?