how to set a column with to 0

how to set a column with to 0

prabu1981prabu1981 Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

i have 10 column in my data table. the user will input values in last 5 columns and based on that ( last 5 columns) first 5 columns will be populated (calculated values will be stored in first 5 columns)

I dont want to show the first 5 columns to be visible to the user.. any ideas ?

i dont want to use bVisible just want to make the column width to zero !!!

Please help. Thanks

Prabu

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,880Questions: 1Answers: 10,139 Site admin

I'm confused, why can't you use bVisible ? It sounds like exactly what you want - if you don't want the column to be visible.

Allan

• prabu1981prabu1981 Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

Thanks Allan. I am very new to HTML, jquery and data table.
    i have a table with 10 columns. i have designed the last 5 columns as text box using <input> tag. first 5 columns just as normal <td>. when the user enter values in the text box i want to copy the same in to the respective first five columns (ex i need to copy the 5 column value to 0 column and 6 column value to 1 column etc.. ).

When i use the bVisible, i dont see the first 5 columns but the jquery i have is replacing the actual column itself (the column were i have the text box)

$('.copydata').live('focusout', function (e) {
    var table = document.getElementById('MenuItemtbl'),
    rows = table.getElementsByTagName('tr'),
    cells = rows[1].getElementsByTagName('td');
    cells[1].innerHTML = $(this).val();
    });

In the above code (when using bVisible = false), the code is updating the cell 1 which is the text box column (but it is suppose to update the hidden column)

Hope i am able to explain the issue here, if not my apologizes.

Thanks.

• prabu1981prabu1981 Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited January 2015