Why "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined"

Why "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined"

mapetersmapeters Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm new to DataTables and everything else about server-side development work, so I hope this isn't too elementary a question to ask.

I get the above error when a page tries to load a table using server-side ajax command. In Chrome's developer's tools "Console" tab it says that error happens in jquery.dataTables.js:2673, which is this:

function _fnAjaxUpdateDraw ( settings, json )
     {
    var data = _fnAjaxDataSrc( settings, json );
    for ( var i=0, ien=data.length ; i<ien ; i++ ) {            <------ Line 2673
        _fnAddData( settings, data[i] );
    }
     }

The file doing the load contains this:

$(document).ready(
function() {
$('table#venues').DataTable(
{
serverSide: true,
ajax: "/api/venues",
columns: [
{ data: "name" },
{ data: "description" },
{ data: "settingid" }
]
}
);
$('table#venues').on('xhr.dt', function(e, settings, json) {
console.log(json);
});
}

When that runs the "console.log(json)" line outputs this: