Guidelines for server processed table filtering

Guidelines for server processed table filtering

ttrenevjrttrenevjr Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0
edited January 2015 in DataTables 1.10

Howdy!

I'm new to Data Tables and may i say to programming at all. I've managed to set up my system with DataTables using server processing, however i'm experiencing difficulties setting up the filtering options. While as the global filter is an awesome tool for finding whatever the user wants, i need few checkboxes (and while we're on the subject, some date range filters) to filter some of the results before content is loaded. I've been through the forum and the website and i understand $.fn.dataTableExt. afnFiltering.push() is the way to do that, but i seem to fail at understanding how this mechanism works. Is it possible to give me some basic guidelines in what i need to do?
Here's my table setup

var active = $('#active').DataTable( {

"dom": 'f<"toolbar">rtilp',

"processing": true,

"serverSide": true,

"ajax": "processing_active.php", 

"order": [[ 1, "desc" ]],

"lengthMenu": [[55, 155, 250, -1], [55, 155, 250, 'All']],

"columns": [

{

"class":          "details-control",

"orderable":      false,

"data":           null,

"defaultContent": ""

},

{ "data": "loadnumber" },

//.. rest of the data fields

],

"createdRow": function ( row, data, index) {

// some filters to help me display the status properly

}

}

} );

I tried putting basic filter before the table just to try and filter some results to see how this works, but the table is not filtered at all.

$.fn.dataTableExt.afnFiltering.push(

function( settings, aData, iDataIndex ) {

var aData = status;

if ( aData == "completed" || aData == "Completed" )

{

return false;

}

else {return true;}

}

);

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• ttrenevjrttrenevjr Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0
    edited January 2015

Is it possible to have something to do with the datables version?