How to do dates in mm/dd/yyyy

How to do dates in mm/dd/yyyy

belldrbelldr Posts: 12Questions: 4Answers: 0
edited March 2015 in DataTables 1.10

I am new to Datatables, I apologize in advance for not being able to get this myself.

Using MySQL and Datatables latest, I am having a doing round-trip editing of a date, where I want the display format to be mm/dd/yyyy, and the date to be stored in MySQL as a regular datetime column.

Display and sorting of the date FROM the database is FINE, using this “columns” spec for my date field, named expire

,{ "data": "expire", "name": "expire",  "mRender": function ( data, type, row ) {
              return data.substr(5,2)+'/'+data.substr(8,2)+'/'+ data.substr(0,4);
                } 

However, when I go to the bubble Editor, the expire date displays as yyyy-mm-dd, and I don’t know how to fix this (after trying many things), while ensuring that the datepicker calender is in sync with the data.

My editor spec for the field is

,{ "label": "Expire"
            , "name": "expire"
            , "type": "date"
            , "fieldInfo": "Enter the expiration date of the Notary seal"
            , "dateFormat": $.datepicker.ISO_8601  // USE THIS to get the right data into the editor environment
            , "dateImage": "../../includes/styles/css/images/calendar_icon.gif"
             } //expire

Using alerts in the Editor.on event, editor.get() tells me I get the correct date in yyyy-mm-dd format, so long as I use the unexpected $.datepicker.ISO_8601 format.
If I change dateFormat to

, "dateFormat": "mm/dd/yy”

I get the wrong date completely in editor.get()

Questions:

Is editor.on the right event for me to be using? Do I have to be doing any even processing at all?

What is the fix to get the date to display in the editor as mm/dd/yyyy, and have the datepicker calendar in sync with that date?

Thanks for any response….

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,822Questions: 1Answers: 10,129 Site admin