Export to Excel without flash and server-side

Export to Excel without flash and server-side

MisiuMisiu Posts: 68Questions: 4Answers: 2

Some time ago I've tried to get rid of flash when exporting to excel, back then my only option was to use server-side script or use TableTools and export to csv.

I want to present proof of concept that allows to export table to Excel's XLSX 2007 format.

http://live.datatables.net/pudavuya/1

I'm using sheetjs (http://github.com/SheetJS/js-xlsx).
This is only basic example of what can be done. I'll try to add this to TableTools, but this can take time, because I'm still learning new API.

Same thing with PDF (http://github.com/MrRio/jsPDF)

Allan what do You think about this? Maybe this is future do TableTools?

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 63,161Questions: 1Answers: 10,406 Site admin

Thanks for this. There are a couple of issues I have with integrating this directly into TableTools (or rather, the new Buttons extension I'm working on - TableTools will not see any new features added now):

1. The Sheet JS file (minified) is 404KB! That's just for the Excel part, more for all the shims etc.
    2. There is still no way of doing copy to clipboard on click without Flash
    3. I want to support IE8+ by default.

My current plan for Buttons is to offer basically the same functionality as TableTools by default (Flash based copy, csv and pdf). Buttons will also be a lot more extensible and I'll be "advertising" the plug-in buttons a lot more, so things like jsPDF and SheetJS based buttons can be easily used by developers that are willing to accept their limitations / advantages (depending upon your point of view).

Indeed the Flash based buttons are going to be plug-in based themselves
    and they might need to be optionally included.

Allan

• MisiuMisiu Posts: 68Questions: 4Answers: 2

Thanks for interest and for reply.