default sort on timestamps

default sort on timestamps

loukinglouking Posts: 259Questions: 52Answers: 0
edited May 2015 in Free community support

I am using a wordpress plugin https://wordpress.org/plugins/inline-google-spreadsheet-viewer/ which displays google docs inline using datatables. I have some datatables experience with the older version in an application I developed. Yeah, yeah, I'll get around to updating next time I crack that application open.

But I digress...

What I would like to know now, is if the table at http://sandbox.steeplechasers.org/membership/brag-corner/ will sort properly if order="[[0,'desc']]".

I'd rather know now than wait until October to find out datatables is not recognizing the timestamp column as anything other than text. https://datatables.net/reference/option/columns.type says date is automatically detected, but will the time after the date confuse the package?

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,805Questions: 1Answers: 10,119 Site admin

The date formats detected are based on the Date.parse() method built into Javascript. ISO8601 is the only date / time format that is guaranteed to work correctly (and even then, it was only a recent version of the specs that mandated that).

Each browser supports different formats - Chrome in particular tries darn hard to make it work, other browsers not so much.

Take a gander at this blog post for more details and a possible solution.

Allan

To answer your direct question - Chrome and Firefox are currently detected your first column as a date column. I haven't tried your page in IE.

Allan

• loukinglouking Posts: 259Questions: 52Answers: 0
    edited May 2015

Thanks. I'm not sure how much control I can impose from the outside of how the wordpress plugin is working. I'm hoping datatables just figures it out, without the need for me to add javascript plugin and code for that. (Although I might be able to trick the WP plugin developer into adding this if necessary. ;) )