Dropdown list in column with options from dynamic source

Dropdown list in column with options from dynamic source

Peter.prc48Peter.prc48 Posts: 22Questions: 6Answers: 1

Hi,
I'm new to Datatables.net and I've scoured the forums but haven't seen an example which meets my requirement. This question: https://datatables.net/forums/discussion/28855/dropdownlist-inline-using-datatable is close but I don't have a fixed, known list of options. Basically, I'm trying to create a dropdown list for a column where the data is a foreign key to another table. Server-side, I can get an array of the values and labels required and bundle them into the opts part of the json. However, I can't seem to access this object in my datatables javascript. The render function on a column has data passed to it but it is the data for that specific row.
Has anyone implemented something similar and is my approach sound or am I heading down a wrong path here?
Thanks.

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• ThomDThomD Posts: 334Questions: 11Answers: 43
    edited October 2015

Just so I understand, you are talking about using using Editor with a select box as the input mechanism, right?

If so, look at the last example on this page.

https://editor.datatables.net/reference/field/select

• Peter.prc48Peter.prc48 Posts: 22Questions: 6Answers: 1

Thanks for replying.
    As I understand, using this method provides a select box in the form. Whilst I will want to do this, my main objective is to provide the same select input on every row in one of the columns of the table, and provide in-line editing. To render this in the table rows - does this not require the use of some other mechanism like columns.data (with possibly nested data for the select list options) and a render function so that the select list is rendered for every row?