How do I get DataTables working in MVC 6?

How do I get DataTables working in MVC 6?

DTslobDTslob Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited February 2016 in Free community support

I am new to DataTables. I am upgrading an MVC 5 application to MVC 6 and not sure what and where to put the basic DataTable javascript files. I ran Nuget Package installer but not sure it gave me what I want.
In project.json it added "jquery.datatables": "1.10.10" but DataTables isn't working. Javascript and CCS and jquery file locations are really different. It was working in MVC 5. Here is the Index.cshtml code where I want to use it:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
    $(document).ready(function () {
        try {
            $('#users').dataTable({});
        } catch (err) {
            alert(err + ":\n Datatables installed?  Included in Resource bundle?");
        }
    });
</script>

@if (!ViewData.ModelState.IsValid)
{
    <div class="alert alert-danger" role="alert">
        <div asp-validation-summary="ValidationSummary.All"></div>

@*@Html.ValidationSummary()*@
    </div>

}

<fieldset>
    <table id="users" class="display">

<thead>
            <tr>
                <th width="20%">Email</th>
                <th width="20%">Roles</th>
                <th width="20%">Action</th>
            </tr>
        </thead>
        <tbody>
            @if (null != Model)
            {
                foreach (var user in Model)
                {
                    <tr>
                        <td>
                            @Html.DisplayFor(modelItem => user.Email)

</td>
                        <td>
       @if (null != user.Roles)
        {
            @*foreach (var role in user.Roles)
            {
                @role
                <br />
            }*@
           @user.Roles
       }
                        </td>
                        <td>
                            <div class="btn-group" role="group" aria-label="...">