datetime-moment.js with SharePoint date data

datetime-moment.js with SharePoint date data

mccdgmccdg Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited March 2016 in Free community support

Thanks to a lot of info on this site (and others) I am successfully using DataTables to display info from our SharePoint 2013 lists using REST/JSON. However - I have run into an issue with formatting date date that I cannot figure out using the Ultimate Date/Time plug-in. The data being returned is in ISO8601 format (2016-03-09T12:51:09Z) so from what I can tell that data should be automatically recognized as date data and formatted the way I choose. I basically just want to drop all of the time data and use MM/DD/YYYY for the date format. I am hoping I am missing something simple or obvious - I am new to jQuery/JavaScript so that happens a lot. I am not able to provide a link to the page and I can't provide access to the SharePoint data so I am not sure how to post a test case. (I do see the Debugger - but the example page http://debug.datatables.net/ihatik gives a 404 and i need to make sure the underlying SharePoint data is not being sent). The code I have so far is below - any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Drew

<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf8" src="/jquery-2.2.1.min.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/jquery.dataTables.min.css">
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf8" src="/jquery.dataTables.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf8" src="/moment.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf8" src="/datetime-moment.js"></script>

<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" class="display" id="pending_actions">
<thead><th>Title</th><th>Task Request</th><th>Task ID</th><th>Contract</th><th>Assigned To</th><th>Start Date</th><th>Due Date</th><th>Status</th></thead>
</table>

<script type="text/javascript">

_spBodyOnLoadFunctionNames.push("PendingActions");

function PendingActions()