SharePoint multiple selection choice field returns "object object"

SharePoint multiple selection choice field returns "object object"

mccdgmccdg Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited March 2016 in Free community support

I am at a loss on how to proceed with this as I am still very new to all of this (jquery/REST/etc.). I have working DataTables pulling from a SharePoint 2013 list using the REST API and am able to do basic selects/filters and expands on lookup fields. However now I am trying to display responses from a choice field (Mod_Reason) where multiple selections are allowed (checkboxes). When I reference the field as a standard field "Object Object" is displayed in the datatable. I have tried various code snippets I have found online but nothing working yet. This is an example of how the data is returned from the REST query:

<d:Mod_Reason m:type="Collection(Edm.String)">
  <d:element>Deobligate</d:element> 
  <d:element>Closeout</d:element> 
 </d:Mod_Reason>

I think I need to use an expand statement in the query but when I do I get a "field not found" message. I have tried things like this that I found online:

{ "data": "Mod_Reason",
 "render": data.d.results.forEach(function(d){
    d.multi = d['Mod_Reason'].results.map(
      function(s){return s.Value}).join(', ');
})}

But that returns nothing.

Any ideas greatly appreciated. I cannot link to the site/data - it is an internal site.

Thanks,
Drew

Replies

• mccdgmccdg Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

For anyone else that might need to do this with SharePoint multi-choice fields using the REST API (not ListData.svc):

The way the results are returned with the _api call differ from what _vti_bin/listdata.svc returned. You no longer need the $expand statement in the query and it will break if you include it.

Here is the explanation from the colleague that assisted me: