Join not working

Join not working

PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
edited March 2016 in Editor

My join can READ the data and be rendered OK. I can eve the edit the first column (Stock.Cantidad). But i CAN NOT EDIT the second column, Articulos.Cantidad.
So my question is why i cannt edit that column Articulos.Cantidad

--CONTROLLER:--

namespace EstudioVenta.Controllers.Api
{
    public class StockController : System.Web.Http.ApiController
    {
        [Route("api/stock/stock")]
        [System.Web.Http.HttpGet]
        [System.Web.Http.HttpPost]
        public System.Web.Http.IHttpActionResult Stock()
        {
            var request = HttpContext.Current.Request;

            using (
          var db = new Database("sqlserver", "Server =.; Database = EstudioVenta1; Trusted_Connection = True;"))
            {
                var response = new Editor(db, "Stocks")
                    .Model<JoinStockNameModel>()
                    .LeftJoin("Articulos", "Articulos.ID", "=", "Stocks.Articulo_ID")
                    .Process(request)
                    .Data();

                return Json(response);
            }
        }
    }
}


    public class JoinStockNameModel
    {
        public class Stocks
        {   
            public int Cantidad { get; set; }
        }

        public class Articulos
        {
            public string Nombre { get; set; }
        }
    }

--Page Script:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" class="init">

    var editor; // use a global for the submit and return data rendering in the examples

    $(document).ready(function () {

        editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
            ajax: "/api/stock/stock",
            table: "#example",
            fields: [{
                name: "Stocks.Cantidad"
            }, {
                name: "Articulos.Nombre"
            }
            ]
        });

        $('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
            editor.inline(this);
        });

        $('#example').DataTable({
            dom: "Bfrtip",
            ajax: {
                url: "/api/stock/stock",
                type: 'POST'
            },
            columns: [
                { data: "Stocks.Cantidad" },
                { data: "Articulos.Nombre" }
            ]
        });

    });

</script>

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    Hi,

    Thanks for your question. When you are trying to edit the joined data you need to include the primary key value of the joined table. Otherwise Editor doesn't know what row in the joined table should be altered.

    You would do that by adding the primary key to the model and also adding it to the Editor field list. You can use the hidden field type so the value isn't shown to the end user.

    Regards,
    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited March 2016

    So you mean that i need the Articulos.ID in my JoinStockNameModel and in my page script in order to modify Articulos.Nombre.

    Why in the example is not that way? Why there is not Sites.ID in the model neither in the page script?

    Datatables example code:

     public class JoinController : ApiController
        {
            [Route("api/join")]
            [HttpGet]
            [HttpPost]
            public IHttpActionResult Join()
            {
                var request = HttpContext.Current.Request;
                var settings = Properties.Settings.Default;
    
                using (var db = new Database(settings.DbType, settings.DbConnection))
                {
                    var response = new Editor(db, "users")
                        .Model<JoinModel>()
                        .Field(new Field("users.site")
                            .Options("sites", "id", "name")
                            .Validator(Validation.DbValues(new ValidationOpts { Empty = false }))
                        )
                        .LeftJoin("sites", "sites.id", "=", "users.site")
                        .Process(request)
                        .Data();
    
                    return Json(response);
                }
            }
        }
    }
    
    namespace WebApiExamples.Models
    {
        public class JoinModel
        {
            public class users
            {
                public string first_name { get; set; }
    
                public string last_name { get; set; }
    
                public string phone { get; set; }
    
                public int site { get; set; }
            }
    
            public class sites
            {
                public string name { get; set; }
            }
        }
    }
    

    var editor; // use a global for the submit and return data rendering in the examples $(document).ready(function() { editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor( { ajax: "/api/join", table: "#example", fields: [ { label: "First name:", name: "users.first_name" }, { label: "Last name:", name: "users.last_name" }, { label: "Phone #:", name: "users.phone" }, { label: "Site:", name: "users.site", type: "select" } ] } ); + // Activate an inline edit on click of a table cell $('#example').on( 'click', 'tbody td:not(:first-child)', function (e) { editor.inline( this, { onBlur: 'submit' } ); } ); $('#example').DataTable( { dom: "Bfrtip", ajax: { url: "/api/join", type: 'POST' }, columns: [ { data: null, defaultContent: '', className: 'select-checkbox', orderable: false }, { data: "users.first_name" }, { data: "users.last_name" }, { data: "users.phone" }, { data: "sites.name", editField: "users.site" } ], buttons: [ { extend: "remove", editor: editor } ] } ); } );
  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    My example doesn't contain the ID because the information in the joined table is not editable in that example. Only the data on the users table is being modified there.

    Regards,
    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited March 2016

    Thanks Allan for the answer. I added the field to the controller, model and page script. But 'm certainly doing something wrong, bcs is not working:

    namespace EstudioVenta.Controllers.Api
    {
        public class StockController : System.Web.Http.ApiController
        {
            [Route("api/stock/stock")]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpGet]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpPost]
            public System.Web.Http.IHttpActionResult Stock()
            {
                var request = HttpContext.Current.Request;
    
                using (
              var db = new Database("sqlserver", "Server =.; Database = EstudioVenta1; Trusted_Connection = True;"))
                {
                    var response = new Editor(db, "Stocks")
                        .Model<JoinStockNameModel>() //<-------JUST ADDED
                        .Field(new Field("Articulos.ID"))
                        .LeftJoin("Articulos", "Articulos.ID", "=", "Stocks.Articulo_ID")
                        .Process(request)
                        .Data();
    
                    return Json(response);
                }
            }
        }
    }
    
    public class JoinStockNameModel
    {
        public class Stocks
        {
            public int Cantidad { get; set; }
    
            public int Articulo_ID { get; set; }
    
        }
    
        public class Articulos
        {
            public int ID { get; set; }  //<-------JUST ADDED
            public string Nombre { get; set; }
        }
    }
    
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" class="init">
    
        var editor; // use a global for the submit and return data rendering in the examples
    
        $(document).ready(function () {
    
            editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
                ajax: "/api/stock/stock",
                table: "#example",
                fields: [{
                    name: "Stocks.Cantidad"
                }, {
                    name: "Articulos.Nombre"
                }
                ]
            });
    
            editor.add({  //<-------JUST ADDED
                type: "hidden",
                name: "Articulos.ID",
                default: ""
            });
    
            $('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
                editor.inline(this);
            });
    
            $('#example').DataTable({
                dom: "Bfrtip",
                ajax: {
                    url: "/api/stock/stock",
                    type: 'POST'
                },
                columns: [
                    { data: "Stocks.Cantidad" },
                    { data: "Articulos.Nombre" }
                ]
            });
    
        });
    
    </script>
    
  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    the looks like it should actually work. Are you able to give me a link to the page so I can check it out please? On edit, what is the data that is being submitted to the server?

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0

    I can give you a link ATM, this is not published yet. What do you mean with the data? The request object? Wich property/s do you need?

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    If you look at the Ajax request in your browser's "Network" panel, it should have a "headers" section that will show the parameters submitted to the server. It would be interesting to know what they are. It would narrow the issue down to client-side or server-side (i.e. its a server-side issue, if the parameters are all being submitted as expected).

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited March 2016
    Header data
    {draw: null, data: [,…], recordsTotal: null, recordsFiltered: null, error: null, fieldErrors: [],…}
    data
    :
    [,…]
    0
    :
    {DT_RowId: "row_1016", Stocks: {Cantidad: 24, Articulo_ID: 1016}, Articulos: {Nombre: "Campera Roja"}}
    Articulos
    :
    {Nombre: "Campera Roja"}
    Nombre
    :
    "Campera Roja"
    DT_RowId
    :
    "row_1016"
    Stocks
    :
    {Cantidad: 24, Articulo_ID: 1016}
    Articulo_ID
    :
    1016
    Cantidad
    :
    24
    draw
    :
    null
    error
    :
    null
    fieldErrors
    :
    []
    files
    :
    {}
    id
    :
    null
    meta
    :
    {}
    options
    :
    {}
    recordsFiltered
    :
    null
    recordsTotal
    :
    null
    upload
    :
    {id: null}
    id
    :
    null
    

    Is that what you expect?

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited March 2016
    {draw: null, data: [,…], recordsTotal: null, recordsFiltered: null, error: null, fieldErrors: [],…}
    data
    :
    [,…]
    0
    :
    {DT_RowId: "row_1016", Stocks: {Cantidad: 24, Articulo_ID: 1016}, Articulos: {Nombre: "Campera Roja"}}
    Articulos
    :
    {Nombre: "Campera Roja"}
    Nombre
    :
    "Campera Roja"
    DT_RowId
    :
    "row_1016"
    Stocks
    :
    {Cantidad: 24, Articulo_ID: 1016}
    Articulo_ID
    :
    1016
    Cantidad
    :
    24
    draw
    :
    null
    error
    :
    null
    fieldErrors
    :
    []
    files
    :
    {}
    id
    :
    null
    meta
    :
    {}
    options
    :
    {}
    recordsFiltered
    :
    null
    recordsTotal
    :
    null
    upload
    :
    {id: null}
    id
    :
    null
    
  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    I'd expected something a bit like:

    action=edit
    data[row_5][first_name]=Airi1
    data[row_5][last_name]=Satou
    data[row_5][position]=Accountant
    data[row_5][office]=Tokyo
    data[row_5][extn]=5407
    data[row_5][start_date]=2008-11-28
    data[row_5][salary]=162700
    

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0

    Hey, i just deployed the site so you can please take a better look:

    Credentials:
    User: allan
    Password: allan

    http://estudioventa.azurewebsites.net/stock

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    Thanks for the link. If I edit the Cantidad column I can see the following data being submitted to the server:

    action:edit
    data[row_3][Stocks][Cantidad]:10
    

    i.e. it is only sending the field that has been edited. Editor will do this by default when using inline editing. It can be changed via the form-options object which you can set using formOptions.inline or the inline() method - e.g.:

    editor.inline(this, {
      submit: 'all'
    } );
    

    You also need to include the Articulos.ID in the submitted fields - use hidden so it can't ever be seen by the end user.

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0

    Hey Allan;

    Now i get to send the ID from the DT call:

    action:edit
    data[row_2039][Stocks][Cantidad]:11112
    data[row_2039][Articulos][Nombre]:2344
    data[row_2039][Articulos][ID]:10

    But in the DT.Response.error i'm getting this:

    "Could not load file or assembly 'AntiXssLibrary, Version=4.3.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=d127efab8a9c114f' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified."

    I asume that this assembly "AntiXssLibrary" is used by the DT assembly, right?

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    Yes - you can download it from here. It will basically encode the HTML to try and add some security against XSS attacks.

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0

    Thanks, i added the DDL and its OK.

    I'm getting this one now: "Cannot update identity column 'ID'." But i did not try to update the ID column, i was idating the "nombre" column

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    What is the name of your primary key column? You can set that using the option third parameter to the Editor C# constructor. You should not include the primary key in the fields list of the model (you can if you need to display it to the end user, but if you do, you need to disable the ability to set it).

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited April 2016

    Deleting the ID gives me this:
    "The multi-part identifier "Articulos.ID" could not be bound."

    action:edit
    data[row_24][Stocks][Cantidad]:123
    data[row_24][Articulos][Nombre]:asd123123

    namespace EstudioVenta.Controllers.Api
    {
    
        internal class JoinStockNameModel
        {
            public class Stocks
            {
                public int Cantidad { get; set; }
    
                //public int Articulo_ID { get; set; }
    
            }
    
            public class Articulos
            {
                public string Nombre { get; set; }
    
                //public int ID { get; set; }
            }
        }
    
        public class StockController : System.Web.Http.ApiController
        {
            [Route("api/stock/stock")]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpGet]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpPost]
            public System.Web.Http.IHttpActionResult Stock()
            {
                var request = HttpContext.Current.Request;
    
    
                using (
                    //var db = new Database("sqlserver", "Server=tcp:rpk9w4eg8k.database.windows.net,1433;Database=EstudioVenta1;User ID=tr3shold1!@rpk9w4eg8k;Password=ARRIBENIOS123!;Trusted_Connection=False;Encrypt=True;Connection Timeout=30"))
                    var db = new Database("sqlserver", "Server =.; Database = EstudioVenta1; Trusted_Connection = True;"))
                {
                    var response = new Editor(db, "Stocks", "Articulos.ID")
                        .Model<JoinStockNameModel>()
                        .LeftJoin("Articulos", "Articulos.ID", "=", "Stocks.Articulo_ID")
                        .Process(request)
                        .Data();
    
                    return Json(response);
                }
            }
        }
    }
    
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" class="init">
    
        var editor; // use a global for the submit and return data rendering in the examples
    
        $(document).ready(function () {
    
            $("#codigo").focus();
    
            editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
                ajax: "/api/stock/stock",
                table: "#example",
                fields: [{
                    name: "Stocks.Cantidad"
                }, {
                    name: "Articulos.Nombre"
                }
                
                ]
            });
    
            $('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
                editor.inline(this, {
                    submit: 'all'
                });
            });
    
            //$('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
            //    editor.inline(this);
            //});
    
            $('#example').DataTable({
                dom: "Bfrtip",
                ajax: {
                    url: "/api/stock/stock",
                    type: 'POST'    
                },
                columns: [
                    { data: "Stocks.Cantidad" },
                    { data: "Articulos.Nombre" }
                ]
            });
    
        });
    
    </script>
    

    There is no example like this in the examples package right? where i can see a joined table where its allow to edit data in both tables.

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    new Editor(db, "Stocks", "Articulos.ID") - you can't use a primary key from a different column on the table being edited. You need to use the column name of the primary key in the Stocks table.

    If you want to be able to edit data in the Articulos table you need to also include the primary key for that table in the model (or Fields) and submit it to the server as a hidden field (hidden).

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0
    edited April 2016

    I don't know what to do anymore. i tried every posible combination i can imagine.
    And i still can not get this working :/

    This is what i have now:

    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" class="init">
    
        var editor; // use a global for the submit and return data rendering in the examples
    
        $(document).ready(function () {
    
            $("#codigo").focus();
    
            editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
                ajax: "/api/stock/stock",
                table: "#example",
                fields: [{
                    name: "Stocks.Cantidad"
                }, {
                    name: "Articulos.Nombre"
                }
                
                ]
            });
    
            editor.add({
                type: "hidden",
                name: "Articulos.ID",
                default: "0"
            });
    
            $('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
                editor.inline(this, {
                    submit: 'all'
                });
            });
    
            //$('#example').on('click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
            //    editor.inline(this);
            //});
    
            $('#example').DataTable({
                dom: "Bfrtip",
                ajax: {
                    url: "/api/stock/stock",
                    type: 'POST'    
                },
                columns: [
                    { data: "Stocks.Cantidad" },
                    { data: "Articulos.Nombre" }
                ]
            });
    
        });
    
    </script>
    
    namespace EstudioVenta.Controllers.Api
    {
    
        internal class JoinStockNameModel
        {
            public class Stocks
            {
                public int Cantidad { get; set; }
    
                public int Id { get; set; }
    
            }
    
            public class Articulos
            {
                public string Nombre { get; set; }
    
                public int ID { get; set; }
            }
        }
    
        public class StockController : System.Web.Http.ApiController
        {
            [Route("api/stock/stock")]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpGet]
            [System.Web.Http.HttpPost]
            public System.Web.Http.IHttpActionResult Stock()
            {
                var request = HttpContext.Current.Request;
    
    
                using (
                         var db = new Database("sqlserver", "Server =.; Database = EstudioVenta1; Trusted_Connection = True;"))
                {
                    var response = new Editor(db, "Stocks", "Stocks.ID")
                        .Model<JoinStockNameModel>()
                             //.Field(new Field("Articulos.ID"))
                        .LeftJoin("Articulos", "Articulos.ID", "=", "Stocks.Articulo_ID")
                        .Process(request)
                        .Data();
    
                    return Json(response);
                }
            }
        }
    }
    

    Database Diagram:

    http://s31.postimg.org/9nnwxcv7f/Capture.jpg

    This is what i get...

    action:edit
    data[row_2058][Stocks][Cantidad]:123
    data[row_2058][Articulos][Nombre]:aadghjgj
    data[row_2058][Articulos][ID]:5
    

    C# DT object Error: "Cannot update identity column 'ID'."

    Please get me the most straight answer and tell exactly what i should be doing, bcs i can figure this out...

    Edited by Allan - Syntax highlighting. Details on how to highlight code using markdown can be found in this guide.

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin
    Answer ✓

    Hi,

    Thanks for your post. Frustratingly it looks like SQL Server doesn't allow the identify column to be updated - MSDN thread.

    Could you try adding:

    new Field('Articulos.ID').Set( false )
    

    to your Editor initialisation to tell it to not write that field please. I think it should still be able to read the value for the Where condition in the update allowing the above to work with SQL Server.

    Allan

  • PatricioFinkPatricioFink Posts: 27Questions: 12Answers: 0

    OMG this is finally working... thanks Allan :D :D

  • allanallan Posts: 61,864Questions: 1Answers: 10,136 Site admin

    Great - thanks for letting me know. Good to hear we finally got it sorted out!

    Allan

This discussion has been closed.