customize sInfo message ?

customize sInfo message ?

nishant09nishant09 Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi,
I'm new to datatable. Can I customize sInfo:""Showing START to END of TOTAL entries" string to something like below

sInfo: myFunction

myFunction() {
return "Showing n messages of queue myQueue"
}

I completely want to cutomize and use my own message/string

Can I do that ?

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,880Questions: 1Answers: 10,139 Site admin
    Answer ✓

Hi,

If you have a look at the language.info documentation you'll see that it doesn't accept a function.

However, you can use infoCallback to provide a function that has complete control over the information string.

Allan

• nishant09nishant09 Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0

Thanks Allan. It helped to find the correct solution. I had to use footerCallback instead since the custom function had to call another function(back-end) and wait for the return value to customize and update the message.(Moreover,infoCallback accept string value only)

So in the footerCallback function, I update the html element to show my own info message.
    {
    "sInfo: " ",
    "bInfo": true,
    "footerCallback": getFooterInfo
    }

function getFooterInfo {
    $("#storageTable_info").html("Showing " + total + " messages of " + approximateMessageCount + " messages in queue");
    }
    However, I still have one small issue with this approach. When the table gets loaded it takes a few milliseconds to update the html element(call the back-end function and wait for the return value). In the meantime, I'm seeing the "Showing 5 to 5 of 5 entries" message in my info bar. which I want to hide/not display. That's a bad user experience.

Do you have input on this ?

• allanallan Posts: 61,880Questions: 1Answers: 10,139 Site admin