License issue

License issue

joskjosk Posts: 13Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited November 2010 in General
If I am doing portal site using closed source product like Oracle Weblogic Portal and our portlets are also closed source jsp-code. Can I use gpl v2 licensed datatables javascript code to display the data that jsp portlet prints out? I know there is also BSD-3 point license available but I want to know what is situation using GPL v2 license.

Replies

• joskjosk Posts: 13Questions: 0Answers: 0
    BUMP! Sorry! I like to have answer for this license question. I tried to interpret GPLv2 license text but it left me uncertain.
  • allanallan Posts: 63,180Questions: 1Answers: 10,411 Site admin
    Hi josk,

I'm not a lawyer and don't understand the ins about outs of the GPL license, however my understanding is that any code that is integrated with GPL code must also be released. The LGPL tries to help the case there in that you can link to libraries without needing to release any code - it might be an idea to add an LGPL option in future.

However, DataTables is dual licensed under GPL v2 and a BSD style license (exactly like jQuery). The code for the two licenses isn't any different, its the same package, and BSD is much less restrictive. Is there a problem with using DataTables with the BSD license?

Allan
  • joskjosk Posts: 13Questions: 0Answers: 0
    BSD license is ok. I just want to understand what is situation if example datatables wouldn't be BSD licensed just GPLv2. jQuery and javascript is a client side code and many times data is coming from server part in the form as PHP, JSP... scripts. The question is, do we need to release that part as well under GPL license. When using AJAX, the client code is interacting with the server. However you can compare it to any other client/server application. This may be interpreted as 2 applications between which data is transferred, therefor both may have different license. Am I right?
    Hi josk,