How do I get a JSON object named aaData

How do I get a JSON object named aaData

mcubedmcubed Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited January 2011 in General
First off let me say I am a newbie when it comes to JQuery and to JSON. I am trying to display the results of a custom built web service call in a table. I don't want to display all of the columns only a subset of them in the end but right now I would be happy displaying them all.

Anyway I followed the documentation as best I could and I am still lost. The AJAX example says " DataTables expects an object with an array called "aaData" with the data source." How do I do that? The web service I hit returns the JSON string (Below) but it is not called aaData. How do I force it to be or force DataTables to use my string instead of looking for one called aaData?

The error I am getting (in both FF and IE) is:

Here is the code I am using to initilize the table:

[code]$(document).ready(function() {
var oTable = $('#example').dataTable( {
"bProcessing": true,
"sAjaxSource": '%%GLOBAL_ShopPath%%/templates/default/cineupload.php'
} );
} );[/code]

Here is a subset of the json: