Select2 with inline editing and multiple selections sends update even if there are none

Select2 with inline editing and multiple selections sends update even if there are none

kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,322Questions: 26Answers: 4,773
edited December 2016 in Free community support

I'm new to using Select2 and Datatables for the matter so I may be missing something simple. Everything seems to work good but one strange issue where an AJAX Edit Action is sent anytime I move from one field to another without making changes. It only happens if I have "multiple: true" for one of the columns. It's not a big deal if there is data in the multi select column as I can make the update and return the correct response to the Editor. If I select any field within a row that has a blank multi select column then a blank Edit Action is sent to the server. Since I don't have an update to perform I don't have a successful response to send back. This causes problems with trying to exit that field.

I prefer no update to be sent if there are no changes but can live with it if needed. Is there a config change I can make or a success response I can return?

Here is the init code for the page:

$(document).ready(function() {

editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor( {
        ajax:  '/manage_clusters',
        table: '#edit-table',
        fields: [
            { type: 'hidden', label: 'pkid:', name: 'main.pkid' },
            { label: 'Name:', name: 'main.name' },
            { type: 'select', label: 'Contact Center:', name: 'main.fk_contact_centers', placeholder: 'Select a location' },
            { type: 'select2', label: 'Publisher:',  name: 'main.Pub', placeholder: 'Select a Publisher', 
                    opts: {   }
            },
            { type: 'select2', label: 'Subscribers:',  name: 'main.Sub', placeholder: 'Select a Subscriber',
                    opts: { multiple: true }
            },
        ]
    } );

var table = $('#edit-table').DataTable( {