Help with Custom Button -> pass selected column to a csv url

Help with Custom Button -> pass selected column to a csv url

dctootalldctootall Posts: 5Questions: 2Answers: 0

I'm relatively new at this, so please forgive me if I'm missing something obvious.

I've built a page that allows the user to submit a bunch of device serial numbers, and which will then query the database for all the information available within the system on those serials and display the result via datatables on the page. I've also added the ability into the page it identify and automatically select the rows in which the database doesn't contain any information on the queried serial numbers.

As the user will often then need to followup with those serials in another internal tool, I've added a copy-to-clipboard button that will pull just the serial numbers of the selected rows. This is currently working great, however like in all ventures, there's always room to improve the user experience, so I'm trying to determine if I can take those selected serials and then pass them directly into another system's API to allow the user to skip the step of copying to the clipboard and going to another page to submit that information.

Here's my current buttons code that handles the copy-to-clipboard and the filtering of just the serials:

buttons: [{ extend: 'copy', text: 'Copy Selected Serials to Clipboard', header: false, exportOptions: { columns: 1, modifier: { selected: true } } }],