Struggling with Editor Installation

Struggling with Editor Installation

constaacconstaac Posts: 13Questions: 1Answers: 0

Preface: I'm a novice web-developer!

I am working on a project for a course that uses a frontend template as a basis. The template comes with webpack and includes Jquery and Bootstrap from the get go.

I was able to get Datatables working via the npm installation guide, so I decided to take the leap and purchase a license for the editor. Since there is no npm install for the editor, I've been running into problems left and right. I have tried several combinations of options via the download page (https://datatables.net/download/index).

Prior to installing the editor, I was able to simply require datatable.net in my main javascript file and datatablize a simple table. Running javascript files via script tags is a little foreign to me, and I'm not sure how to go about the "require" step (if it's even necessary).

Further, using the given script tag throws a "jquery is undefined" error, which I assume has something to do with the script tag executing before webpack makes jquery available.

I am completely lost! Any help or direction to some reading would be much appreciated!

I can't wait to get this working!

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,740Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

Running javascript files via script tags is a little foreign to me

Haha! Javascript has come a long way from when I started...!

You are right, unfortunately there is no Editor NPM package for the Javascript files as I haven't found a way to integrate that with the fact that it is commercially licensed software.

How are you currently configuring things to use DataTables? I ask because there are a number of ways of doing it - I presume something like this?:

var $ = require('jquery');
    require('datatables.net')( window, $ );

If so, then you can extend that pattern and include the Editor Javascript using: