Some questions. regarding: Header customization, dynamic column hiding.

Some questions. regarding: Header customization, dynamic column hiding.

BeenehBeeneh Posts: 4Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited October 2017 in Free community support

Hello there,

I've got some (probably) minor questions with regards to some user experience in DataTables.

I'll start off by saying that I'm not an experienced programmer. I've started on this journey pretty much from scratch a few weeks ago and therefore there is a very big chance that I've been looking the solution straight in the face while not realising that I've been doing so. I've read through the documentation a few times but I don't think i'm quite able to complete these final bits without some guidance.

I had some time to spare, so please excuse the giant wall of text.

• Here's a JSBin link so you can read along as I try to explain: DataTables JSBin
  • The example JSON file is located here: JSON link

My use of DataTables is perhaps slightly unorthodox, but I don't believe that this should cause an issue. As you can see I'm building a grid which displays access rights for a group of users, so that a user (admin / manager) has an overview of an entire team's access rights and is able to compare users on the fly.
It looks somewhat fine for this example but the json file that I would generate internally is of course a bit larger (average of around 200kb filesize, uncompressed). Therein lies my problem. I'd like to rotate the headers by 45 degrees to achieve a nicer looking grid. I can do it fine in static html based DataTables but I can't seem to be able to get it done in the dynamically generated version. I'm probably staring myself blind on how to achieve what I want.

Example of the result when using static HTML built table:

My first question: How can I dynamically add a div, and a span inside the headers, as well as add a class to the th. So that the end result would be something like: