auto generate link URL from database

auto generate link URL from database

tooncestoonces Posts: 15Questions: 2Answers: 0
edited April 2011 in General
Hi Alan. Love Datatables, it makes my life a lot easier. I am the dangerous kind of developer - self taught and non professional lol. I know just enough to frustrate myself :-) So hence my question :

I have successfully created a page that uses datatables to load a phpMysql dataset into a table using JSON. No problem at all there. What I need to do after this though is make it so that in each line there is a clickable button (form button or graphic, don't really care which) that when clicked generates a url based on which row was clicked. So for example, if the locID (my index field) in the clicked row is "22", I want it to generate a url similar to www.myurl.com/process.php?parameter=22" and navigate to it so that my php script can respond according to what row was clicked on. There seem to be complex ways of doing it that i have a hard time wrapping my head around... is there a simple way for us non experts? My problem is when I look at the example code, not being a java expert i don't really grasp what the most relevant lines are for me. For example I don't even know whether the best way would be to do it in the server_processing.php file, or client side. Thanks in advance for your help

Replies

• tooncestoonces Posts: 15Questions: 2Answers: 0
    solved it thru stubbornness and mind numbing trial and error. For anyone else with the same problem this is what i did : I'm sure there's a more elegant way, but I went to about line 162 in the server_processing.php samle script provided with datatables, and inserted this in the previously commented out area :

[code]

$foobar3 = $aRow[ $aColumns[$i] ];
    $foobar1 = '';

$row[] = $foobar1. '>'. $aRow[ $aColumns[$i] ] .'';

[/code]