Is it possible to add another column value, like id, in request when using inline()

Is it possible to add another column value, like id, in request when using inline()

lsukharnlsukharn Posts: 10Questions: 3Answers: 2

I am new to the Editor, so I am wondering how I can do the following:

$('#example').on( 'click', 'tbody td:not(:first-child)', function (e) {
    editor.inline( this, 'additional column' );
} );

So in this case I am sending not only the edited cell data, like {'edited_cell': 100}, but additional information about the entry, like id. For example, the request would be {'id': 1, 'edited_cell': 100} now.
This additional column ('id') then can be used to update the right entry in the db.

Any help is much appreciated!

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• colincolin Posts: 15,238Questions: 1Answers: 2,599

Hi @lsukharn ,

The additional information, I believe, will go in the submit() call - take a look at the penultimate example which adds an extra field.

This thread also talks about using ajax.data and
    preSubmit so there may be other avenues!

Hope that helps,

Cheers,

Colin

• ayzayz Posts: 63Questions: 23Answers: 1

@colin: I thought Editor automatically handles the 'id' field. Why is a separate column needed to update the db?

• allanallan Posts: 63,332Questions: 1Answers: 10,436 Site admin
    Answer ✓

All correct :)

The way Editor submits information is that the id field is implicit in the name of the parameter. e.g. consider submitting:

data[row_29][first_name] = Fiona

The id is 29 (with a row_ prefix to help avoid conflicts and make it a valid HTML4 id). To get that information on the server-side (if you aren't using the provided libraries) you'd need to loop over the data submitted and extract that information.