What is an effective method for conditionally rendering a JSON datasource in a DataTable?

What is an effective method for conditionally rendering a JSON datasource in a DataTable?

wyattbutp86wyattbutp86 Posts: 4Questions: 2Answers: 0

I am trying to find an effective method for adding conditional rendering to a datatable I'm displaying in an HTML page, which is pulling data from JSON source file stored locally. I am new to working with JSON, but have a decent amount of experience working with jQuery and so apologies if I don't get this quite right in my post.

Essentially, I am displaying a default datatable with three columns (a, b, and c), which are populated by info from the JSON source file. For instance, the JSON file looks something like this:

{"data":["a": "abc123", "b":{"sub_data": "llama","alpaca","chimpanzee"}, "c":"Friar Tuck"]}

"b" in the JSON file contains single word categories that need to comma separated when rendered in the HTML table. The issue is "b" in the JSON file is either blank like this "b":{}, or it has an array containing anywhere from one to several entries under "sub_data".

My jQuery code, for testing purposes, looks something like this right now (and returns all "sub_data" values in column B of the datatable:

$(document).ready(function() {
  $("#myTable").DataTable({
     "ajax": {
      url: "File Location",
      dataSrc: "data",
      processing: "true"
   },
  "columns": [
   {"data": "a" },
   {"data": "b",
     "render": function ( data, type, row ) {
      return data.sub_field + ',' + ' ';
     }

},
   {"data": "c" }
  ]
});
});