Inline Editing with Editor for different column number.

Inline Editing with Editor for different column number.

tarudiantarudian Posts: 13Questions: 5Answers: 1
edited October 2018 in Free community support

Hi,
I am considering purchesing Editor, for its inline editing features, however I am wondering if it will solve my problem.

Basicly i have a table, which lenght is determined by the returned data.

Based on the specific case. we can have table for one or multiple years.

Columns for example are like :

Name, Year, Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr ....... Year, Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr ....

So basicly i create columns based on the year count, and then fill it with grouped values using data from a model. I haven't found a way to fill table from dt ajax call.

I need to be able to edit each month values (best if it can be done inline).
From the editor examples i have seen, all table configuration is specefied in the js part. So i am not sure if the inline functionality will work for me.

Can someone advise me if this requirment can be achived with Editor pluign ?

  • table columns length will be different based on the case
  • inline editing for month values

                     <table id="TempTable"class="display row-border" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
                        <thead>
                            <tr>
                                <th>Name</th>
                                 <th>type></th>
                                @foreach (var Year in Model.Years)
                                {
    
                                    <th>Jan-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Feb-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Mar-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Apr-@Year</th>
                                    <th>May-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Jul-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Jun-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Aug-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Sep-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Oct-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Nov-@Year</th>
                                    <th>Dec-@Year</th>
                                }
                            </tr>
                        </thead>
                                <tbody>
                                    @foreach (var item in Model.Data)
                                    {
                                        <tr>
                                            <td>@item.[0].Values.Name</td>
                                            <td>@item.[0].Values.Type</td>
                                            @foreach (var item2 in item.Values)
                                            {
                                                <td>@item2.Jan</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Feb</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Mar</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Apr</td>
                                                <td>@item2.May</td>
                                                <td>@item2.July</td>
                                                <td>@item2.June</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Aug</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Sep</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Oct</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Nov</td>
                                                <td>@item2.Dec</td>
                                            }
                                        </tr>                          
                                    }
                                </tbody>
                            </table>
    
    $(document).ready(function () {
        $('#TempTable').DataTable({
            "dom": 'rti'
        });
    

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

  • colincolin Posts: 15,240Questions: 1Answers: 2,599

    Note, duplicate of this thread here, but more info on this one so best to use this.

  • allanallan Posts: 63,468Questions: 1Answers: 10,466 Site admin
    Answer ✓

    Can someone advise me if this requirment can be achived with Editor pluign ?

    Yes it can. You are right that the examples focus on static field construction, but it is also quite possible to dynamically add fields to an Editor instance using the add() method. For example:

        var editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor( {
            table: "#myTable",
            fields: [ {
                    label: "First name:",
                    name: "first_name"
                }, {
                    label: "Last name:",
                    name: "last_name"
                }
            ]
        } );
    

    could be rewritten as:

    var editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
      table: "#myTable"
    });
    
    editor.add({
      label: "First name:",
      name: "first_name"
    });
    
    editor.add({
      label: "Last name:",
      name: "last_name"
    });
    

    From there it is just one more step to use add() in a loop (assuming you have the information about the fields you want to be editable in an array or object somewhere).

    Allan

  • tarudiantarudian Posts: 13Questions: 5Answers: 1

    Thank you Allan, that helps. Will test this after i get the Editor :smile:

  • tarudiantarudian Posts: 13Questions: 5Answers: 1
    edited November 2018

    Can you advice me how Object for this should look like, since columns name can change depending on the case time period ?

    sometime it will me from jan 2018 - april 2018
    and sometime from mar 2018 to dec 2019 ....

  • tarudiantarudian Posts: 13Questions: 5Answers: 1
    edited November 2018

    For example, can i use nested objects.... like this

    data {
                  Name: test,
                  Type : green
                  Years {
                       2018 {
                                 jan: 14
                                 feb: 4
                                 mar: 5
                                 apr: 6
                                 may : 8
                                 june: 9
                                 july: 15
                                 aug :12
                                 sep : 23
                                 oct : 322
                                 nov: 23
                                 dec: 45
                                }
                        2019 {
                                 jan: 14
                                 feb: 4
                                 mar: 5
                                 apr: 6
                                 may : 8
                                 june: 9
                                 july: 15
                                 aug :12
                                 sep : 23
                                 oct : 322
                                 nov: 23
                                 dec: 45
                                }
    }
    
        var editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor({
          table: "#myTable"
        });
    
    
        // some loop to determine from which to which month & year
        editor.add({
          label: "",
          name: "Years[i].[j]"
        });
    
  • allanallan Posts: 63,468Questions: 1Answers: 10,466 Site admin
    Answer ✓

    You would use name: 'Years.2018.jan for example. You could create the fields in a loop.

    Allan

  • plareszkaplareszka Posts: 12Questions: 5Answers: 2

    Thanks @allan for your suggestion, i have aquired editor, but not sure now how to build controller for this since from what i have learned so far. Editor requires exact models from datatables to be used, and to achive nested object like above I had to group my data from different sources.

    Is there a way to build my custom object in a controller, and then pass it to Editor response, and upon editing a cell have a custom behavior to point which table should be updated ?

  • allanallan Posts: 63,468Questions: 1Answers: 10,466 Site admin
    Answer ✓

    Editor requires exact models from datatables to be used

    Do you mean in .NET? Actually it doesn't need a model at all. Similar to how I commented on your other thread you can built up the Editor instance in .NET with a loop, adding the fields as you need. A model in .NET is actually just used to iterate over the properties to add the fields based on the property names.

    Allan

This discussion has been closed.