django-rest-framework-datatables slow TTFB (serverside, 3.5 million rows, 9 columns)

django-rest-framework-datatables slow TTFB (serverside, 3.5 million rows, 9 columns)

chainwang31chainwang31 Posts: 3Questions: 2Answers: 0

Hi, I'm new to datatables (Thanks for the product!:)) and django, trying to build a website hosting 3.5 m rows with 9 columns. I am currently using django-rest-framework-datatables (by izimobil, David Louis). The table display/functions are okay, but is slow on page load and search:

Page load: Around 8-9 sec of "time to first byte", which takes >99% of the loading time, others are in milli-sec;
Search: takes 10-40 sec of "time to first byte" on search (1 draw only with search delay) - I use column individual header search only

Any idea what I can look to improve this (queryset? database/hardware performance)? (I use datatables 1.10.19 django 2.2 python 3.7, sqlite hosting all the data, 50 rows per page)

js:
serverSide: true,
ajax: {
url: "/api/mydata/?format=datatables",
}

views.py
class mydataViewSet(viewsets.ModelViewSet):
queryset = mydata.objects.all()
serializer_class = mydataSerializer

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 21,159Questions: 26Answers: 4,920

Page load: Around 8-9 sec of "time to first byte", which takes >99% of the loading time, others are in milli-sec;

Are you saying that 99% of the time the client is waiting for the data and once received it takes milliseconds to render the page?

If so then the delay is in the server side and not Datatables in the client. You would need to determine if the problem is with the sqlite speed, sqlite queries or if its something in the django-rest-framework-datatables library. These questions would be better answered in their respective support forums.

Kevin

• chainwang31chainwang31 Posts: 3Questions: 2Answers: 0
    edited August 2019

Hi Kevin,
    Thank you for your response. Please see the timing analysis below (initial page load). I am not sure if this means delay in sqlite.