How to check when multiple table have loaded

How to check when multiple table have loaded

jdadwilsonjdadwilson Posts: 80Questions: 14Answers: 1

This is somewhat of a basic question but being an old novice I'm not sure how to handle it.

My site has a search feature that allows the user to search multiple database tables with a single entry. The results of each ajax json query loads a datatable with the results. Using initComplete I set a unique flag (T/F) when an individual table has loaded and get the number of records loaded into the table. If the number of records is zero the table is hidden.

If all the queries return zero records I would like to inform the user rather than displaying a blank page. My 'problem' is how do I use the results of each table to then determine that all are finished.

An old type solution would be to start the first table load and then in the initComplete of the first start the second etc. This is how it would be handled in FORTRAN II but I think the world of 'programming' has advanced past that stage.

Any thoughts/help is most appreciated
jdadwilson
msgwcc@msholmes.org

Answers

• colincolin Posts: 15,143Questions: 1Answers: 2,586

Hi @jdadwilson ,

If all the tables are in the DOM, then you could check after you've hidden each table whether there are any unhidden tables - and if there isn't, then display your message. That should do the trick,

Cheers,

Colin

• jdadwilsonjdadwilson Posts: 80Questions: 14Answers: 1

Good idea, but... how do I know when all the tables have loaded? I activate the tables as follows...

loadTableA();
    loadTableB();
    loadTableC();

In the initComplete of each 'table' I check the number of rows created and then show the table if positive rows were generated. Where then do I check that ALL of the subject table are Hidden?

• colincolin Posts: 15,143Questions: 1Answers: 2,586

Hi @jdadwilson ,