Using CSV to fill DataTable

Using CSV to fill DataTable

epschroederepschroeder Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited July 2011 in General
Hello all,

I have searched the forum but have not found an answer yet so I hope someone can help me.
I want to use a csv file to fill my DataTable. I have read that I have to convert it to JSON but have not found out how.
I have no experience with JSON so please help me out!

Replies

• fbasfbas Posts: 1,094Questions: 4Answers: 0
    I was actually writing up plans for an app or wizard, part of which would covert between csv, json, html, or database tables. This would be the first step in the wizard for customizing a fast deployment of a DataTables page or set of pages.

I'd be a little surprised if you couldn't find something out there on the internet that does this. I found a site that will convert csv to an HTML table - I was planning on using this in my app: http://area23.brightbyte.de/csv2wp.php there were several others, but this was the best that I had seen, and is downloadable to run on your own site.

Just a google search away are tools to convert csv to json: http://www.zenovations.com/misc/convertcsv/
  • epschroederepschroeder Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Hi fbas,

thank you for your reply.
    I did find the tools on the internet but they are not what I'm looking for.
    What I want DataTables to do is convert csv to JSON on the fly.
    The client I am writing this webapp for can only upload .csv files from their software automatically so a conversion tool won't be a solution.

Hope you or someone else can still help me out.
  • fbasfbas Posts: 1,094Questions: 4Answers: 0
    some of those links include javascript code for turning csv into json. you can use that code or at least get ideas from it.
  • GregPGregP Posts: 487Questions: 8Answers: 0