Changes made in InitComplete callback keep getting reverted once done.

Changes made in InitComplete callback keep getting reverted once done.

temuujintemuujin Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hello, I am rather new to javascript and datatables,

I am making a serverside table with an ajax call to populate some of the columns. I wanted to populate the rest of the columns with a InitComplete callback making an ajax request per row (so it appears one by one). This works but as soon as it is done, the changes made in the InitComplete callback (using the api row().data().draw() ) are reverted.

How can I achieve what I am trying to get which is to load some of the columns on initialisation, and then request the rest afterwards per row (because it is slow to get).

Thanks in advance!

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 21,167Questions: 26Answers: 4,921

I don't completely understand what you are describing but initComplete only runs once when the Datatable is initialized. If you want to manipulate the XHR response the xhr event may be what you are looking for.

Kevin

• temuujintemuujin Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited February 2020

Sorry it wasn't clear. Basically, imagine a table with 2 columns. Name and Number of Calls. The second column takes super long to gather. So when I try to get all the data on initialisation, it takes a long time to display anything. But I want the table to display the names at least while the second column is populating one by one (so it feels faster).

Thanks for the clarification, makes sense.

How can I achieve what I am trying to get which is to load some of the columns on initialisation, and then request the rest afterwards per row (because it is slow to get).

One option may be to use either drawCallback or draw, they are essentially the same. You can then just fetch the data for the rows being displayed.