Sorting RowGroup on group values

Sorting RowGroup on group values

haliorishalioris Posts: 9Questions: 2Answers: 0

I am fairly new to datatables but have found it to be awesome. I stumbled across the RowGroup functionality and it is great. I ultimately want to sort by the number of elements in each group but was playing around with different functionality and unable to get it to do what I want and looking for a little help. I tried to follow the example that was posted here but could use a little help. First of all I tried to strip it down to the basics so I got rid of collapsing stuff and a little more. My table is a list of pro tennis players that played in college. I have a regular table that just lists them in order (found on my website here) and I am creating another version grouped by college so you can see how many from each college are in the Top 1000 pros. The live test case for my attempt that is failing to group by college with sorting is located here (I sure hope that link persists as this is my first attempt using live.datatables.net). I would like to do 2 things:

1. Be able to sort the table by number of players per college. I'd honestly be ok if the user could sort nothing after that and maybe just add collapsing to it.
  2. Just because I saw the example of sorting on grouped totals I wanted to learn and get it to work but it is not working. You will notice that I attempted to add a total Points per college but it is only showing the first row, not the total for the group. I'd like the group row to show the total for the group and then when you click on the Points header have it sort on Group Points not the individual rows.

There are a few things I don't understand that would be great if someone could explain as well.