Populating table from SQL Server with Node.js

Populating table from SQL Server with Node.js

mmcardlemmcardle Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi everyone,

I'm new to DataTables and want to get the basics working first before I move on with it. I'm using a local install of SQL Server Express 2019 and the AdventureWorks database.

And this is where I have got stuck after several days of researching and trial and error. I "think" I'm stuck with my JSON formatting, but it looks like it should work to me.

Below is my app.js, table.js(model) and main.ejs and then more detail about the problem I'm getting. App.js uses a model for the DB connection. Not included that as it works fine.

Note: Yes, there are irrelevant things in the app.js and main.ejs files, but wanted to leave them in as it's working as it is and I'll need them later.

app.js

var express = require("express"),
        app = express(),
        bodyParser = require("body-parser"),
        {pool, poolConnect} = require("./models/dbConn");

app.use(bodyParser.urlencoded({extended: true}));
    app.set("view engine", "ejs");
    app.use(express.static(__dirname + "/public"));

app.get("/", function(req, res){
    res.redirect("/salespeople");
    });

app.get("/salespeople", function(req, res){
      let qry = "SELECT TOP 3 [FirstName], [LastName], [EmailAddress] FROM [Sales].[vSalesPerson] FOR JSON AUTO, ROOT('peopleData')";

const request = pool.request(); // or: new sql.Request(pool1)
      request.query(qry, function(err, data){
          if(err){
              console.log("Query had an issue: ", err);
          } else {
              console.log(data.recordset);
              res.render("main", {data: data.recordset});
          }
      });
    });

table.js

$(document).ready(function() {
      $('#tabletest').DataTable( {
        "processing": true,
        "serverSide": true,
        "ajax": {
          "url": "/salespeople",
          "dataSrc": "peopleData"
        },
        "columns": [