Read data from MySQL view, Edit and write to another table

Read data from MySQL view, Edit and write to another table

Ed MartinEd Martin Posts: 23Questions: 5Answers: 0

I am new to Editor and wanted to understand what options I might have to solve a problem in one of my PHP applications. I have a View that contains line item data for orders. I know that a View cannot be edited, but I was hoping to be able to open the editor and when changes are made the changes are written to another table on the database (delivery) . Basically, the user would open the order form and would change the quantity to be delivered based on availability. I primarily work in PHP with limited expertise in JS or JQuery

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• mguinnessmguinness Posts: 85Questions: 12Answers: 1

I know that a View cannot be edited

MySQL does allow for Updatable and Insertable Views, but only under certain conditions.

I was hoping to be able to open the editor and when changes are made the changes are written to another table on the database

What download are you using PHP library or just JS+CSS? With the latter you have complete control with Client / server data.

• Ed MartinEd Martin Posts: 23Questions: 5Answers: 0

I have the PHP library downloaded and am trying to understand how it might be used. I am very hopeful that I can solve this issue as it is a blocker at this point. I will research the link you provided and work on gaining a better understanding of how Client / Server data operates.

Thanks very much for the advice and help[.

Ed

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin
    Answer ✓

You can indeed use the PHP libraries to read from a VIEW and then write back to a specific table - there is an example of that here.

Allan

Thank you Allan. I look forward to employing this powerful utility.