'Do something' after draw() has completed, but outside of drawCallback()

'Do something' after draw() has completed, but outside of drawCallback()

mihomesmihomes Posts: 150Questions: 19Answers: 0

Here is my situation, and while I have a solution I've been using for a few years now, I would like to revisit this to see if anything else has been made available.

"dom":
        "<'dtSelections'lf>"+
        "<'dtButtons'>"+
        "<'dtAlert'>"+
        "r"+
        "<'dtTable table-responsive't>"+
        "<'dtFooter'ip>",

I insert alerts in the 'dtAlert' div after actions have happened such as deleting an entry, updating it, and so on. More often that not I need to call table.draw() after these actions happen as well.

table.draw();
--insert my alert into the div--

The problem has always been the alert is inserted before the draw completes. Since I clear alerts on each draw in drawCallback() they never display. My current solution is to save the 'state'... set it to 1 when I add an alert then in the drawCallback() if it is 1 I do nothing and set it to 0... if 0 I clear the alerts. This basically tells it to leave the alerts for 1 redraw then clear afterwards.

Has there been anything new added which would allow me to accomplish this differently? Like a callback in table.draw() or something using promises?

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,726Questions: 1Answers: 10,109 Site admin

Hi,

Could you show me a complete example of your code please? I’m not quite getting this bit:

The problem has always been the alert is inserted before the draw completes. Since I clear alerts on each draw in drawCallback() they never display

Your pseudo code above shows it being inserted after you call draw() (although if you are using server-side processing, then the actual draw might happen later). But you say here that you clear alerts on drawCallback.