Updating table using jsquery array

Updating table using jsquery array

ChazzaChazza Posts: 10Questions: 4Answers: 0

Hi
I am new to DataTables so please bear with me. I have a table on a web page which is defined in the <head> statement and is

<script>
        var dataSet = %ALARMSTABLE%;

$(document).ready(function() {
    $('#example').DataTable( {
        data: dataSet,
        columns: [
            { title: "id" },
            { title: "time" },
            { title: "z1" },
            { title: "z2" },
            { title: "z3" },
            { title: "z4" },
    { title: "z5" },
            { title: "z6" },
            { title: "z7" },
            { title: "z8" }
        ]
    } );
} );
    </script>

Then in the <body> I have

<table id="example" class="display" width="100%"></table>

When I load or refresh the page the table always displays the correct latest data so up to this point it is all okay.
I have added a button so I don't have to reload the whole page to get the latest data. The script for that is;

<script>
    $('#butupdt').on('click', function () {

$.get( "alupdate", function(latestdata) {

alert(latestdata); //shows data received to verify correct format

var table = $('#example').DataTable();

table.clear();
        table.rows.add(latestdata);
        table.draw(); 

});

});

</script>

When I click the button the alert pops up and shows me the data held in the variable latestdata is in the correct format which is a simple array table. An example of the output of the alert is;

[
["6","Sun 22:12","1","0","1","0","1","0","0","0"],
["7","Tue 16:50","1","1","0","1","0","0","0","1"],
["4","Sat 05:15","1","1","1","1","0","1","1","0"],
["8","Sat 13:23","1","0","0","0","1","1","0","1"],
]